Fifth Conference of the Brazilian Society for Analytic Philosophy (VSBFA)

Dear members and friends of SBFA,

It is our pleasure to announce the Call for Papers for the Fifth Conference of the Brazilian Society for Analytic Philosophy (VSBFA), which will take place in Salvador, Bahia, Brazil, from September 10th to 14th, 2018. Please see the information below. Registration for the conference will begin in January 15th, 2018.


  • Deadline for submissions: March 15, 2018
  • Communication of Acceptance: March 16, 2018
  • Contact:




Agustin Rayo (MIT, USA)
Annalisa Coliva (University of California-Irvine, USA)
Christoph Kelp (University of Glasgow, Scotland)
Duncan Pritchard (University of Edinburgh, Scotland)
Ernesto Perini (UFMG, Brazil)
João Carlos Salles (UFBA, Brazil; Sociedade Iberoamericana de Filosofia)
José Branquinho (Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal)
Marco Ruffino (UNICAMP, Brazil)
Ophelia Deroy (University of London, UK)
Stephan Hartmann (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany; European Society for Analytic Philosophy (ESAP))
Sven Bernecker (University of California-Irvine, USA; Universität zu Köln, Germany)


The VSBFA is designed to provide a forum for new work in any area of analytic philosophy. The format of the conference will provide an opportunity for speakers to receive constructive feedback.

10 Set 2018 > Ocorrido há 814 dias
10 Set 2018 - 14 Set 2018
Sociedade Brasileira de Filosofia Analítica


From January 15th, 2018, we will provide an electronic address on the SBFA page ( for submission of papers.


Individual Papers

You can submit an abstract of an “individual paper”. The abstract should be between 500 and 1,000 words, and it should present the main argument of the paper. Review will be double-blind. Please do not include your name or any identifying references on the abstract. The allocated time for delivering individual papers at the conference will be 40 minutes, including discussion. The languages of the conference are Portuguese, English, Spanish and French.


Symposia or Workshop

Symposia or workshop organizers must submit a description of the topic and aim of the symposium (500 and 1,000 words), together with the abstracts of all the papers that will be presented. There is a limit of four papers per symposium or workshop, and the total allocated time will be 2 hours.

Participants who want to attend the conference without presenting a paper are kindly requested their registration. Undergraduate students enrollment will be free.


Breno Hax Junior (UFPR)
Ludovic Soutif (PUC-Rio)
Marco Aurelio Oliveira da Silva (UFBA)
Marcos Silva (UFAL)
Waldomiro José da Silva Filho (UFBA)



Abilio Rodrigues (UFMG)
Adriano Brito (UNISINOS)
Alexandre Meyer Luz (UFSC)
Analisa Coliva (UC-Irvine, USA)
André Abath (UFMG)
Andre Leclerc (UnB)
Beatriz Sorrentino (UFMT)
César Shirmmer dos Santos (UFSM)
Eleonora Orlando (Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina)
Eros de Carvalho (UFRGS)
Felipe Rocha (UFBA)
Flávio Williges (UFSM)
Gisele Secco (UFRGS)
Glenda Satne (University of Wollongong, Australia)
Guadalupe Reinoso (SeCyT-FFyH-UNC, Córdoba-Argentina)
Maite Ezcurdia (UNAM, México)
Marcelo Carvalho (UNIFESP)
Marco Ruffino (UNICAMP)
Maxwell Morais (UFAL)
Ophelia Deroy (University of London, UK)
Otávio Bueno (University of Miami, USA)
Plínio Smith (UNIFESP)
Sofia Stein (UNISINOS)
Tiegue Vieira Rodrigues (UFSM)

FaLang translation system by Faboba